Must be filed on or before November 25, 2024

State Tax Form 128 Revised 11/2016 The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

CAMBRIDGE

Name of City or Town

Assessors' Use only
Date Received
Application No.

APPLICATION FOR ABATEME	ENT OF 🗸 REAL PROPERTY TAX
	PERSONAL PROPERTY TAX
	TEAR 2025
	s Chapter 59, § 59
THIS APPLICATION IS NOT OPEN TO PUBLIC	C INSPECTION (See General Laws Chapter 59, § 60)
	Return to: Cambridge Board of Assessors
	Must be filed with assessors not later than due
	date of first actual (not preliminary) tax payment for fiscal year. 795 Massachusetts Ave, Cambridge, MA 02139
	101 115ca1 year. 100 massasinasan 101 115ca1 year.
INSTRUCTIONS: Complete BOTH sides of application. Ple	ease print or type.
A. TAXPAYER INFORMATION.	
	ner)
Subsequent owner (aquired title after January 1) on	
Administrator/executor.	Mortgagee.
Lessee.	Other. Specify.
Mailing address	Telephone No. ()
No. Street City/Town	Zip Code E-mail address:
•	Zip Code
Amounts and dates of tax payments	
B. PROPERTY IDENTIFICATION. Complete using inform	
Tax bill no.	Assessed valuation \$
Location No. Street	
Description	
Real: Parcel ID no. (map-block-lot)	
Personal: Property type(s)	
C. REASON(S) ABATEMENT SOUGHT. Check reason(s)	an abatement is warranted and briefly explain why it applies.
Continue explanation on attachment if necessary.	
Overvaluation	Incorrect usage classification
Disproportionate assessment	Other. Specify.
Applicant's opinion of: Value \$	Class
Explanation	
r <u></u>	
r	
r <u></u>	
I	

FILING THIS FORM DOES NOT STAY THE COLLECTION OF YOUR TAXES. TO AVOID LOSS OF APPEAL RIGHTS OR ADDITION OF INTEREST AND OTHER COLLECTION CHARGES, THE TAX SHOULD BE PAID AS ASSESSED.

TAXPAYER INFORMATION ABOUT ABATEMENT PROCEDURE

REASONS FOR AN ABATEMENT. An abatement is a reduction in the tax assessed on your property for the fiscal year. To dispute your valuation or assessment or to correct any other billing problem or error that caused your tax bill to be higher than it should be, you must apply for an abatement.

You may apply for an abatement if your property is: 1) overvalued (assessed value is more than fair cash value on January 1 for any reason, including clerical and data processing errors or assessment of property that is non-existent or not taxable to you), 2) disproportionately assessed in comparison with other properties, 3) classified incorrectly as residential, open space, commercial or industrial real property, or 4) partially or fully exempt.

WHO MAY FILE AN APPLICATION. You may file an application if you are:

- the assessed or subsequent (acquiring title after January 1) owner of the property,
- the personal representative of the assessed owner's estate or personal representative or trustee under the assessed owner's will,
- a tenant paying rent who is obligated to pay more than one-half of the tax,
- a person owning or having an interest or possession of the property, or
- a mortgagee if the assessed owner has not applied.

In some cases, you must pay all or a portion of the tax before you can file.

WHEN AND WHERE APPLICATION MUST BE FILED. Your application must be filed with the assessors on or before the date the first installment payment of the actual tax bill mailed for the fiscal year is due, unless you are a mortgagee. If so, your application must be filed during the last 10 days of the abatement application period. Actual tax bills are those issued after the tax rate is set. Applications filed for omitted, revised or reassessed taxes must be filed within 3 months of the date the bill for those taxes was mailed. THESE DEADLINES CANNOT BE EXTENDED OR WAIVED BY THE ASSESSORS FOR ANY REASON. IF YOUR APPLICATION IS NOT TIMELY FILED, YOU LOSE ALL RIGHTS TO AN ABATEMENT AND THE ASSESSORS CANNOT BY LAW GRANT YOU ONE. TO BE TIMELY FILED, YOUR APPLICATION MUST BE (1) RECEIVED BY THE ASSESSORS ON OR BEFORE THE FILING DEADLINE OR (2) MAILED BY UNITED STATES MAIL, FIRST CLASS POSTAGE PREPAID, TO THE PROPER ADDRESS OF THE ASSESSORS ON OR BEFORE THE FILING DEADLINE AS SHOWN BY A POSTMARK MADE BY THE UNITED STATES POSTAL SERVICE.

PAYMENT OF TAX. Filing an application does not stay the collection of your taxes. In some cases, you must pay all preliminary and actual installments of the tax when due to appeal the assessors' disposition of your application. Failure to pay the tax assessed when due may also subject you to interest charges and collection action. To avoid any loss of rights or additional charges, you should pay the tax as assessed. If an abatement is granted and you have already paid the entire year's tax as abated, you will receive a refund of any overpayment.

ASSESSORS DISPOSITION. Upon applying for an abatement, you may be asked to provide the assessors with written information about the property and permit them to inspect it. Failure to provide the information or permit an inspection within 30 days of the request may result in the loss of your appeal rights.

The assessors have 3 months from the date your application is filed to act on it unless you agree in writing before that period expires to extend it for a specific time. If the assessors do not act on your application within the original or extended period, it is deemed denied. You will be notified in writing whether an abatement has been granted or denied.

APPEAL. You may appeal the disposition of your application to the Appellate Tax Board, or if applicable, the County Commissioners. The appeal must be filed within 3 months of the date the assessors acted on your application, or the date your application was deemed denied, whichever is applicable. The disposition notice will provide you with further information about the appeal procedure and deadline.

	DISPOSITION OF APPLICATIO	N (ASSESSORS' USE ONLY)	
Ch. 59, § 61A return	GRANTED	Assessed value	
Date sent	DENIED	Abated value	
Date returned	DEEMED DENIED	Adjusted value	
On-site inspection		Assessed tax	
Date		Abated tax	
Ву	Date voted/Deemed denied	Adjusted tax	
	Certificate No		
	Date Cert./Notice sent	Board of Assessors	
Data changed	Appeal		
	Date filed		
Valuation	Decision		
	Settlement	Date:	
	Settiement	Date	